Our Palyul Lineage Masters

We are grateful for the guidance of our lineage lamas in an unbroken transmission since the time of the Buddha. Here we present the lineage masters from the 20th and 21th century. Palyul Chadongri Gon, in Amdo Golok (chin. Qinghai) is a branch monastery of Palyul Tarthang Monastery. We are grateful to be under the protection of H.H. Garwang Nyima Rinpoche, as Tibetan Buddhism places great importance on lineage transmission. This means that teachings and practices are passed down from experienced teachers to their disciples. Our Palyul lineage ensures the preservation of the teachings and maintains their authenticity.

H.H. Palyul Choktrul Rinpoche

Palyul Choktrul Rinpoche Jampel Gyepai Dorje (1894 – 1958/1959) resided at Tarthang Monastery. His main teacher was Lhatrul Rinpoche. He excelled in Dzogchen and Mahamudra and gave generous donations to monasteries and temples. In 1946 the Churong clan entrusted Chadongri monastery in his care.

H.H. Drubwang Penor Rinpoche

Kyabjé Drubwang Padma Norbu Rinpoche (1932 – 2009) the 11th throneholder of the Palyul Lineage. Penor Rinpoche was enthroned by his root teacher, Palyul Choktrul Rinpoche. He trained at Palyul Monastery in Tibet. Penor Rinpoche founded Namdroling Monastery in India, following his exile from Tibet.

H.H. Garwang Nyima Rinpoche

Palyul monastery has numerous branch monasteries of which Tarthang Monastery is famous for its academic rigour. The current throneholder is H.H. Garwang Nyima, the third Lhatrul Rinpoche and a manifestation of Vajrapani. You can find a more extensive biography of this master on this website.

Scroll to Top